Skip to main content



The Indian Science Congress Association is a professional body under Department of Science & Technology, Ministry of Science & Technology, Government of India. The first meeting of the Congress was held from January 15-17, 1914 at the premises of the Asiatic Society, Calcutta, with the Honourable Justice Sir Asutosh Mukherjee, the then Vice-Chancellor of the Calcutta University, as President. One hundred and five scientists from different parts of India and abroad attended and the papers numbering 35 were divided into six sections-Botany, Chemistry, Ethnography, Geology, Physics, Zoology under six Sectional Presidents. From this modest beginning with hundred and five members and thirty five papers communicated for reading at the first session, ISCA has grown into a strong fraternity with more than ten thousand members till to date. The number of papers communicated for reading has risen to nearly one thousand. There are now fourteen sections namely Agriculture and Forestry Sciences, Animal, Veterinary and Fishery Sciences, Anthropological and Behavioural Sciences (including Archaeology and Psychology & Educational Sciences), Chemical Sciences, Earth System Sciences, Engineering Sciences, Environmental Sciences, Information and Communication Science & Technology (including Computer Sciences), Material Sciences, Mathematical Sciences (including Statistics), Medical Sciences (including Physiology), New Biology (including Biochemistry, Biophysics & Molecular Biology and Biotechnology), Physical Sciences, Plant Sciences and one Committee Science & Society. The Silver Jubilee Session of the Science Congress was held at Calcutta in 1938, Golden Jubilee in October, 1963 at Delhi with Prof.D.S. Kothari as General President, Diamond Jubilee Session of the Science Congress was held at Chandigarh in January 3-9, 1973, under the Presidentship of Dr.S.Bhagavantam, Platinum Jubilee, in 1988, with Prof.C.N.R.Rao as General President, and Centenary Session was held at Kolkata in 2013 under the Presidentship of Dr. Manmohan Singh , Honourable Prime Minister of India.

One of the major objectives of the ISCA is to inculcate the scientific temper among the people and to encourage young scientists to grow up steadily in this direction involving them in the programmes relevant to fundamental, experimental and operational activities. With these objectives in view, ISCA started Chapters from 1986-87 in different places in India. The ISCA DHARMANAGAR chapter was inaugurated by Prof. Ashok Kumar Saxena, in Dharmanagar Tripura on 21.08.2017.



Dr. Manik Bhattacharya,

Assistant Professor & Head of the Deptt.,
Department of Economics, Government Degree College, Dharmanagar,
Tripura (N)-799 253.
Mobile : 9612835597, Fax : 03822-220387;
E-mail :