Department of Political Science

Brief Departmental Profile :

The Department of Political Science started functioning in 1979 with pass course and honours course was started in 1995. The department offers three years degree in Pass and Honours Courses. 

Vision :

Building a solid foundation in basic academic knowledge for the students is our prime vision with a strong emphasis on practical aspects of the knowledge for the benefit of our society. We continually encourage and help students to actively participate and get engage in different other areas like cultural and social activities too.

Address of Communication :

Department of Political Science, Government Degree College, Dharmanagar, North Tripura, PIN-799253.

 Ph No : 03822-220387

Courses Offered :

  i] B.A  (General).   Duration: Three Years(1+1+1).  From 2014-2015 Credit Based Six-Semister Degree Programme started.

  ii] B.A (Honours).  Duration: Three Years(1+1+1).  From 2014-2015 Credit Based Six-Semister Degree Programme started.

Intake Capacity:

In Honours Course : 80

Eligibility Criteria at Entry Level :

  • For admisson in Political Science Honours, the candidate should have passed in H.S.
  • A  general candidate is eligible to apply in Political science Hon's course if he/she has secured in H.S or equivalent exam. 40% or above in average along with atleast 45% marks in Political science or 35 % in average and 50 % in Political science.
  • Candidate should have atleast required 50% marks in H.S exam if he/she didn't have Political Science as elective subject in H.S.
  • Selection would be on merit basis subject to the fulfillment of the state government reservation policy.

Other facilities:

Common smart classroom.